Not Just Southern Fun

Standard

Most times when you see a tire swing, a lot of people would think, southern, country or backwoods. But for the truth, I’ve seen that tire swings are not just for the hillbillies, or people who don’t have a regular swing; they can be anywhere. tireWe had one when I was about 8 years old. But that one got wore out and broke when one of my older siblings got on it. So then about 2 years ago we put up another one. This one didn’t get used too much though. When children came over for cookouts, or we had parties then it got used. But now, it just hangs there. tire 2When I went to the Journey to the Heart in March there was loads of snow. But outside my cabin there was a tire swing. The one above. I loved the look of the picture and made sure I got it before I left. Usually there is a lake behind it, but it was covered in snow; so you can’t see it.

Anyways, tire swings are sometimes used like we use God. When we don’t have anything else to do, we’ll go swing. Just like when we don’t have anything to do, ‘well I could read my Bible‘. Instead we should want to read our Bible and please the LORD. Another way to look at it is this; That old tire swing is good and so much fun when we’re little. But when we’re older we feel like that’s a child’s play. Much of the time, we like church when we’re little. We don’t mind telling people we’re Christians. But when we get older, its not cool to let people know that you go to church, or its embarrassing to witness. In reality, the world is dying. It doesn’t matter if its cool or embarrassing if your friend is drowning you’d throw them a life saver before you would walk away.

So, get out there and throw the life saver to a dying sinner.

Bethany

 

About Bethany

I'm 19 years old and currently working on my college through New York Institute of Photography. I'm the third child in a family of 5 kids. I give piano lessons and am learning the fiddle. I enjoy making music for my King. I live on a small farm in Georgia with a cat, a yellow lab and a miniature dachshund named Boss, and a Chinese-Crested Powder-puff named Lucy.

Leave a Reply

