A Scare This Evening

Standard

This past Monday, Amy and I tore down the chicken pen in the back yard. While we were out there, we seen two snakes. One was a black snake (harmless) and the other was a rat snake (also harmless). I killed the rat snake because I didn’t know what it was until I got close. So we’ve been on the lookout for snakes all week. We are kind of paranoid I guess you could say.

I’ll tell you this, our dogs are always barking. They bark at frogs, cars pulling up the driveway, a butterfly. So they bark a lot. They actually found the rat snake for us. =)

Well, this evening about 6:30 King, our yellow lab, started barking. And that made Boss, our mini dachshund start barking inside. Amy went outside to see what he was barking at, thinking it was probably a frog, neighbor pulling up the driveway, or the dreaded…. a snake. When she went around the side of the house, she saw this…..IMG_0002A coiled and rattling, rattlesnake. Of course she ran inside to tell Mama, who then ran outside to see how big it was. When she seen the size she knew it wouldn’t die with a 22 bullet. So, she called my brother who lives 6 miles down the road. He came flying in the driveway and pulled out his  20 gauge rifle. When he seen the snake it even gave him chills.

Needless to say, Ryan was a hero to the household this evening. The snake has 13 buttons on his rattle and is 48 inches long. (We measured after he was dead) We just hope that there aren’t any more close. We know there are more, but we are praying we will see them before they see, or get, us.

Y’all have a good night, and be thankful for the dogs that stay outside. =)

Bethany

About Bethany

I'm 19 years old and currently working on my college through New York Institute of Photography. I'm the third child in a family of 5 kids. I give piano lessons and am learning the fiddle. I enjoy making music for my King. I live on a small farm in Georgia with a cat, a yellow lab and a miniature dachshund named Boss, and a Chinese-Crested Powder-puff named Lucy.

Leave a Reply

