Granola Bars

Standard

I am a huge fan of granola bars. They are the perfect snack! When you want something sweet, sour, chewy, soft, chocolate or fruity, you have… Granola!

Today, I did a little experimenting with my granola. We found this great new recipe and instead of adding the chocolate chips like it said, I used two different combinations of dried fruit. So, instead of one big pan I made two small pans to try the two different combos of fruit.

The first pan, (on the back of the plate) has mango’s and apricots.

The second, (on the left side of the plate) has a mix berry combo, with cranberries, blueberries and cherries. This is my favorite out of the two new ones.

And the third one, (on the right side of the plate) is the regular recipe with chocolate chips. granola

Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

3/4 cup (1 -1/2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup honey
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
4 -1/2 cups rolled oats
1 cup (6 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a medium-size mixing bowl, cream together the butter, honey, brown sugar, and vanilla extract. (I use an electric mixer for this step.)
2. Add flour, baking soda, and oats. Stir until well-mixed. Mixture will be a soft, fluffy, and somewhat crumbly. Stir in chocolate chips.
3. Press mixture into a lightly-greased 9×13-inch baking dish. Bake at 325 degrees for 18-22 minutes, until edges are just starting to brown. Remove from oven and place dish on wire rack to cool.
4. After granola bars have cooled for 10 minutes, use a smooth-bottomed measuring cup or glass to press the bars flat. (Pressing while too hot will smear chocolate everywhere!) Allow to finish cooling and then cut.

From the family, they liked it. I’d say that this was a very successful experiment. =)

Bethany

About Bethany

I'm 19 years old and currently working on my college through New York Institute of Photography. I'm the third child in a family of 5 kids. I give piano lessons and am learning the fiddle. I enjoy making music for my King. I live on a small farm in Georgia with a cat, a yellow lab and a miniature dachshund named Boss, and a Chinese-Crested Powder-puff named Lucy.

One response »

Leave a Reply

