Homegrown Grits

Standard

Today we started processing our grits corn. It’s been drying off the stalk for about 3 weeks now. We’ve never done our own grits before so this was a learning experience for all of us.

Jennifer, Amy and I were husking the corn, while Phillip was shelling it off of the cob and Daddy was getting what the sheller couldn’t. Here they are blowing the chaff out of the shelled corn. 

Here is Jennifer and Amy picking out the bad kernels. There weren’t many though, which was really good.

We cooked up a batch and they tasted just as good as the store grits, but without the preservatives and chemicals. They seemed to taste better just for that fact. It was fun and a great learning experience at the same time.

These pictures are taken with my new camera. I am currently buying a Sony a380. So I’m trying to learn all of the settings and work with the lens’, filters and extra flash. It’s a lot of fun. It is definitely a challenge.

Bethany

About Bethany

I'm 19 years old and currently working on my college through New York Institute of Photography. I'm the third child in a family of 5 kids. I give piano lessons and am learning the fiddle. I enjoy making music for my King. I live on a small farm in Georgia with a cat, a yellow lab and a miniature dachshund named Boss, and a Chinese-Crested Powder-puff named Lucy.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

